header 22nd CDG 2020

22nd CDGA

Host, Mindy Kaling

22nd CDGA Details


Mindy Kaling


Career Achievement – Michael Kaplan

Spotlight – Charlize Theron

Distinguished Collaborator – Adam McKay

Distinguished Service – Mary Ellen Fields

Excellence in Contemporary film

Winner: Knives Out – Jenny Eagan

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood – Arjun Bhasin

Hustlers – Mitchell Travers

The Laundromat – Ellen Mirojnick

Queen & Slim – Shiona Turini


Winner: Maleficent: Mistress of Evil – Ellen Mirojnick

Aladdin – Michael Wilkinson

Avengers: Endgame – Judianna Makovsky

Captain Marvel – Sanja M. Hays

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Michael Kaplan

Excellence in Period Film

Winner: Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo

Dolemite is My Name – Ruth E. Carter

Downton Abbey – Anna Mary Scott Robbins

Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Rocketman – Julian Day

Excellence in Contemporary Television

Winner: Schitt’s Creek: “The Dress” – Debra Hanson

Big Little Lies: “She Knows” – Alix Friedberg

Fleabag: “2.1” – Ray Holman

Killing Eve: “Desperate Times” – Charlotte Mitchell

Russian Doll: “Superiority Complex” – Jennifer Rogien

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

Winner: Game of Thrones: “The Iron Throne” – Michele Clapton

Carnival Row: “Aisling” – Joanna Eatwell

The Handmaid’s Tale: “Household” – Natalie Bronfman

A Series of Unfortunate Events: “Penultimate Peril: Part 2” – Cynthia Summers

Watchmen: “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice” – Sharen Davis

Excellence in Period Television

Winner: The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: “It’s Comedy or Cabbage” – Donna Zakowska

Chernobyl: “Please Remain Calm” – Odile Dicks-Mireaux

The Crown: “Cri De Coeur” – Amy Roberts

Fosse/Verdon: “Life is a Cabaret” – Melissa Toth & Joseph La Corte

GLOW: “Freaky Tuesday” – Beth Morgan

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Winner: The Masked Singer: “Season Finale: And the Winner Takes It All and Takes It Off” – Marina Toybina

Dancing with the Stars: “First Elimination” – Daniela Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee

The Late Late Show with James Corden: “Crosswalk the Musical: Aladdin” – Lauren Shapiro

RuPaul’s Drag Race: “Whatcha Unpackin?” – Zaldy for RuPaul

Saturday Night Live: “Sandra Oh / Tame Impala” – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design

Winner: United Airlines: “Star Wars Wing Walker” – Christopher Lawrence

Katy Perry: “Small Talk” – Phoenix Mellow

Kohler Verdera Voice Smart Mirror: “Mirror, Mirror” – Ami Goodheart

Lil Nas X: “Old Town Road” – Catherine Hahn

Madonna: “God Control” – B. Åkerlund