Bina Daigeler – Mulan

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

Nancy Steiner – Promising Young Woman

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Ann Roth – Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Excellence in Period Film

23rd Costume Designers Guild Award Winners

We are proud to announce our CDGA Winners! And the results are in!!! CONGRATULATIONS

23rd CDGA Details


Lana Condor

Distinguished Collaborators

Shonda Rhimes

Betsy Beers

Excellence in Contemporary film

Winner: Promising Young Woman – Nancy Steiner

Illustrator: Brian Valenzuela

Supervisor: Claudia Sarbu


Barb and StarGo to Vista Del Mar
Trayce Gigi Field

Birds of Prey (And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn)
Erin Benach

Da 5 Bloods
Donna Berwick

The Prom
Lou Eyrich

Excellence in Period Film

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth

ACD: Matthew Pachtman

Supervisor: Liz Kirby


Alexandra Byrne

Judas and the Black Messiah
Charlese Antoinette Jones

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Ann Roth

Trish Summerville

One Night in Miami
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck


Winner: Mulan – Bina Daigeler 

ACDs: Daniela Backes, Liz McGregor

Illustrators: Anna Haigh, Warren Holder, Luke Hollis, Long Ouyang

Supervisors: Jenny Rushton, Bettine Seifert


Jenny Beavan

Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey
Michael Wilkinson

Bina Daigeler

Massimo Cantini Parrini

Wonder Woman 1984
Lindy Hemming

Excellence in Contemporary Television

Winner: Schitt’s Creek “Happy Ending” – Debra Hanson 

ACD: Darci Cheyne


Emily in Paris: “Faux Amis”
Patricia Field & Marylin Fitoussi

Euphoria: “Part 1: Rue – Trouble Don’t Last Always”
Heidi Bivens

I May Destroy You: “Social Media is a Great Way to Connect”
Lynsey Moore

Unorthodox: “Part 2”
Justine Seymour

Excellence in Period Television

Winner: The Queen’s Gambit “End Game” – Gabriele Binder

ACDs: Nanrose Buchman, Katrin Hoffmann, Gina Kraus

Supervisor: Sparka Lee Hall


Bridgerton: “Diamond of the First Water”
Ellen Mirojnick & John W. Glaser III

The Crown: “Terra Nullius”
Amy Roberts

Lovecraft Country: “I Am.”
Dayna Pink

Mrs. America: “Shirley”
Bina Daigeler

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

Winner: Westworld “Parce Domine” – Shay Cunliffe

ACDs: Jo Kissack, Giorgia Tramontano

Illustrators: Christian Cordella, Michael Uwandi

Supervisor: Dan Bronson


The Mandalorian: “Chapter 13: The Jedi”
Shawna Trpcic

Snowpiercer: “Access is Power”
Cynthia Summers

Star Trek: Picard: “Absolute Candor”
Christine Bieselin Clark

What We Do in the Shadows: “Nouveau Théâtre des Vampires”
Amanda Neale

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Winner: Hamilton – Paul Tazewell

ACD: Angela Kahler

Supervisor: Scott Westervelt


Dancing with the Stars: “Villains Night”
Daniela Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee

The Masked Dancer: “Premiere–Everybody Mask Now!”
Gabrielle Letamendi & Candice Rainwater

The Masked Singer: “The Semi Finals–The Super Six”
Marina Toybina

Saturday Night Live: “John Mulaney / The Strokes”
Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design

Winner: Apple: Vertical Cinema “The Stunt Double” short film – April Napier 

ACDs: Hunter Hamilton, Brigitte Pavich

Supervisor: Anna Darnell


The Killers: “Caution” music video
Samantha Kuester

Selena Gomez: “Boyfriend” music video
Dawn Ritz & Kenn Law

Tim Burton: “Themed Halloween Party” short film
Dawn Ritz

The Weeknd: “Blinding Lights” music video
Ami Goodheart