Annual 18th CDGA 2016

18th CDGA

Presenters, Jaime Camil & Constance Zimmer

18th Costume Designers Guild Awards

The CDGA recognizes Excellence in Contemporary, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and Period Film and Television, and Short Form Design.

18th CDGA Details


Betsy Brandt


Career Achievement – Ellen Mirojnick

LACOSTE Spotlight – Cate Blanchett

Distinguished Collaborator – Quentin Tarantino

Distinguished Service – Edwina Pellikka

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Winner: Beasts of No Nation – Jenny Eagan

Joy – Michael Wilkinson

Kingsman: The Secret Service – Arianne Phillips

The Martian – Janty Yates

Youth – Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Sci- Fi / Fantasy Film

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan

Cinderella – Sandy Powell

Ex Machina – Sammy Sheldon Differ

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2 – Kurt and Bart

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Michael Kaplan

Excellence in Period Film

Winner: The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado

Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux

Carol – Sandy Powell

Crimson Peak – Kate Hawley

Trumbo – Daniel Orlandi


Outstanding Contemporary Television

Winner: American Horror Story: Hotel – Lou Eyrich

Empire, Season 1 – Rita McGhee

House of Cards – Johanna Argan & Kemal Harris

Ray Donovan – Christopher Lawrence

Transparent – Marie Schley


Outstanding Sci- Fi / Fantasy Television

Winner: Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton

Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro

Sleepy Hollow (S2) – Kristin M. Burke & Mairi Chisholm

Sleepy Hollow (S3) – Mairi Chisholm

The Wiz Live! – Paul Tazewell

Outstanding Period Television

Winner: The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick

Mad Men – Janie Bryant, Tiffany White Stanton

Masters of Sex – Isis Mussenden

Outlander – Terry Dresbach

Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Excellence in Short Form Design

Winner: Most Interesting Man in the World Wins on Land, Sea & Air, Dos Equis – Julie Vogel

And So It Begins, Old Spice – Mindy Le Brock

From the Makers of Happy & Merry, H&M Presents Katy Perry – B. Åkerlund

The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-Earth – Dance Battle – Soyon An

Kevin Spacey, E-Trade – Johanna Argan